Krishna Nagar won India’s 5th Gold, Here goes the others

Rajasree Roy

India in Tokyo Paralympics is now a new era. Krishna Nagar won India’s 5th gold in Tokyo Paralympics. He beat Hong Kong’s Chu Man Kai in Badminton men’s singles. It was an exciting hard-fought match ( SH6). 

This is the second gold medal for India in badminton in Tokyo Paralympics after Pramod Bhagat. Bhagat won the men’s singles title in the SL3 in the event on Saturday. Krishna Nagar played another fine showing to win the final 21-17, 16-21, 21-17 in a match lasting a total of 43 minutes.

Nagar lost only another point in the primary game as he followed 15-17. From that point on in, he won six focuses straight to leave his opponent shell-stunned and take the game to 21-17. Nagar was taking the lead then. But
Chu Man Kai won one more point to take the lead. But Krishna Nagar made sure there was no late fightback and came back to secure the gold for India.

With this, India registered its best showdown in this Tokyo Paralympics 2021. India earns a total of 19 medals this season. India finished with five gold, eight silver, and six bronze medals in Tokyo Paralympics. This was a rain of medals.

India won its first medal of the Games through Bhavinaben Patel. She bagged a silver medal home in table tennis women’s singles (Class 4). Indian shooters just showcased their talent with extreme efficiency. They brought home two gold medals, and five in total. Avani Lekhara and Singhraj Adana both won two medals.

four medals in the high jump, three in javelin throw, and one in the discus throw. Devendra Jhajharia went on to win a silver medal in Men’s Javelin F46 event. He is the first Indian Paralympics player to win two gold medals at the Paralympics.

Sumit AntilGold
Avani LekharaGold
Pramod BhagatGold
Manish NarwalGold
Krishna NagarGold
Praveen KumarSilver
Suhas YathirajSilver
Bhavinaben PatelSilver
Singhraj AdhanaSilver
Yogesh KathuniaSilver
M ThangaveluSilver
Nishad KumarSilver
Devendra JhajhariaSilver
Sundar SinghBronze

On the other hand, Sundar Singh took the bronze medal to complete his redemption in the same event.

Sumit Antil secured the only athletics gold medal at the Tokyo Paralympics for India for Javelin throwing. In this case the only gold medal from Tokyo Olympics, Neeraj Chopra made a record from India. 

Pramod Bhagat and Krishna Nagar both won gold in the Paralympics in different categories of Badminton. 

All these stunning performances at the Tokyo Paralympics follow the country registering its best medal haul in the Olympic Games.

Leave a Reply